Craft Blogs- Presentation, Style, Communication.(Topic 3)

There was a time when I associated the word “craft” with activities like knitting, needlepoint, and rug hooking. Those are all fine forms of crafts but they’re personally not my cup of tea. At one point crafts’ seemed like daunting and boring activities to partake in. But then I discovered DIY crafts, an entirely different medium of creativity. Simple DIY crafts caught my eye because they used simple everyday items and maybe a few other cheap supplies. I stumbled upon them online through various sites and blogs. Through my surfing I’ve developed a preference of how I like craft ideas and tutorials presented. In this blog I hope to achieve the structure, presentation, and effective communication of crafts that make it inviting, fun, and personal. First off, the audience I’m geared towards is a younger generation that wants to do fun, simple, and cheap projects that are really just about ‘personalizing’ things. So grandma probably wouldn’t be interested in the hip galaxy sweater I show how to make.  I say a younger generation also because, as a younger person, I don’t want, nor have the fiscal means, to be spending a ridiculous amount of money on a hobby.

Crème de le Craft is a perfect example of a blog that clearly communicates instructions and has a simple easy-to-read layout. Depending on the level of complexity the writer uses either step-by-step picture instructions or video tutorials. She takes into account which medium will best communicate her message. I find sites like The Dollar Store Crafts have too much going on; it’s busy and sometimes confusing. The easier it is to understand a craft, the more likely someone is going to try it. The goal of my blog is to achieve this simplicity that still effectively communicates the message or idea.

The layout and organization of A Beautiful Mess is anything but a mess. Like the Dollar Store Crafts, it has a variety of crafts and other projects, but the Beautiful Mess’s layout and organization is much easier to navigate than the Dollar Store Crafts design.

Another goal I hope to achieve in this blog is sharing crafts that are truly unique. They should be personal and quirky; something that could not be store bought. Ironically, Free People (as in the clothing line) has a unique DIY section on their blog. The crafts are simple but fun and really cool. The photos are not the most instructional, but they do provide a pleasant way of showing the materials and final product.

Lastly, I find crafts tend to be associated with a stereotypical “domesticity”, and that’s not what I want this blog to be about. The projects don’t necessarily have to serve a function or make life easier. My audience also doesn’t need fun crafts for the kids, or a chic way of organizing spices. A blog like How Does She? is a perfect example of this. It’s an entirely different community of DIY crafts (and more) that is geared towards a very specific audience.

I think blogging is a refreshing way of explaining and sharing crafts compared to books and magazines. When you go to a craft store, the isle you never see anyone in is the book isle. I find books and magazine’s are impersonal, not direct, and don’t clearly communicate for the most part how to make the project in question. Blogging allows you to take your audience step-by-step through a process, and also share a personal experience, additional tips, and ideas as well.

Leave a Reply

